Skip to Main Content Skip to Side Navigation Skip to Top Navigation
Home>News and Media>Connect with VTA>New VTA Chair and Vice Chair

New VTA Chair and Vice Chair


The Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority (VTA) Board of Directors elected its 2018 Chair and Vice Chair at the December 2017 board meeting.
Chair Jeannie Bruins, City of Los Altos Council member, now passes the gavel to 2017 Vice Chair Sam Liccardo, Mayor of San Jose.
Liccardo serves on the VTA Board of Directors representing City Group 1 (the City of San José), having been most recently appointed in 2015. In 2017, he served on the Administration & Finance Committee and on the Governance & Audit Committee, where he served as vice chairperson. Mayor Liccardo also represents the City of San José on the Diridon Station Joint Policy Advisory Board and served as that committee’s chairperson for 2016 and 2017.  He also is a commissioner on the Metropolitan Transportation Commission (MTC) representing the City of San José. Liccardo previously served on the VTA Board of Directors representing City Group 1 (City of San José) from 2007-2013, and served as the Board chairperson for 2010 and vice chairperson in 2009.  
“In 2018, we’ll continue pursuing every opportunity available to address our growing traffic problems and help build a world-class transportation system for the entire region,” said Liccardo. “In particular, I look forward to the launch of the first 10-mile segment of VTA’s Extension of BART Silicon Valley later this year and continuing the crucial work to extend service all the way to Downtown San Jose and Santa Clara.”
The Board also elected Santa Clara Council member Teresa O’Neill as Vice Chair. O’Neill serves on the VTA Board of Directors representing City Group 5 (the Northeast Cities of Milpitas, Santa Clara and Sunnyvale) and was appointed in 2016. She serves on the Congestion Management Program and Planning Committee, and was that committee’s chairperson for 2017.  She also serves on the Governance & Audit Committee, the Capital Projects Oversight Committee, and on the BART Silicon Valley Ad Hoc Committee, where she was vice chairperson for 2017. In addition, O’Neill represents VTA on the Capitol Corridor Joint Powers Board and on the County Expressways Policy Advisory Committee.  She currently represents the City of Santa Clara on VTA’s El Camino Real Rapid Transit Policy Advisory Board and previously represented Santa Clara on VTA’s Policy Advisory Committee for several years.
“I am honored to serve as Vice Chair on the VTA Board for 2018,” O’Neill said. “Together, in partnership with a dedicated and enthusiastic Board along with vital input from residents, I look forward to innovating and implementing transportation solutions that our communities are looking to us to provide.”

comments powered by Disqus
Related Articles