Seven New Members Join 2023 VTA Board

The Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority has seven new board members who were sworn into their positions at the first board meeting of the year, Thursday, January 12.  

The new members from the City of San Jose are Mayor Matt Mahan, Councilmember Pam Foley, Councilmember Omar Torres, Councilmember Dev Davis (who moves from alternate to regular member.) Newly elected Councilmember Rosemary Kamei is an alternate.

From South County, Gilroy Mayor Marie Blankley moves from alternate to regular board member, and newly elected Morgan Hill Mayor Mark Turner joins the VTA Board as an alternate. 

Representing the Northeast City Group, Sunnyvale Vice Mayor Omar Din. From the West Valley City Group, Campbell City Councilmember Sergio Lopez.

Continuing their service on VTA’s Board are Palo Alto City Councilmember Pat Burt, now Board chair, Santa Clara County Supervisor Cindy Chavez, now Vice Chair, Santa Clara County Supervisor Otto Lee, San Jose City Councilmember Sergio Jimenez, Santa Clara City Councilmember Suds Jain, Milpitas Mayor Carmen Montano is now an alternate, Los Altos City Councilmember Lynette Lee Eng, Los Gatos City Councilmember Rob Rennie is an alternate, Mountain View City Councilmember Margaret Abe Koga continues as Ex-officio member.

A Board of Directors Workshop is scheduled for Friday, January 20 at 9 am. The next regular meeting of the VTA Board of Directors is February 2 at 5:30 p.m. Both meetings will be held via video conference.

Subscribe to our Newsletter