Blossom Hill/101 interchange
US 101/Blossom Hill Road Interchange Improvement Project Wins 2023 Transportation Award

Each year the California Transportation Foundation (CTF) awards the coveted Transportation Awards to the top project teams in the state. We are proud to announce that the 34th annual CTF Awards program recognized the US-101/Blossom Hill Rd. Interchange Improvement project. The VTA-led project was awarded the “Interchange Project of the Year”. The CTF Transportation Awards were announced online this past Wednesday, June 7, 2023. 

As part of the finalist’s application process project each teams were asked to submit a short video for their project to include in the recognition video that was shown during the event. We welcome you to click on the short recognition video below:

"As the Congestion Management Agency for Santa Clara County, VTA is honored to be recognized for its transportation infrastructure achievements,” said Carolyn Gonot, VTA General Manager /CEO. “Projects that enhance our local transportation networks and improve safety for all modes of transportation are integral to the quality of life and economic development of our community.”

The US-101/Blossom Hill Rd. Interchange project constructed a bridge structure over US 101 to accommodate additional lanes in each direction. There was a reconfiguration of Monterey Road to the eastbound Blossom Hill Road ramp to increase the merging distance between Monterey Road and US 101 southbound on-ramp. The project also completed a separated bike and pedestrian path from Xander’s Crossing at Monterey Road to Coyote Creek trail off Blossom Hill Road and Silver Creek Valley Road.

Not only did this project significantly relieve congestion and improve traffic operations on the freeway and local roadways in the vicinity of the US 101 and Blossom Hill Road interchange, but it also improved bicycle and pedestrian connectivity along Blossom Hill Road and surrounding areas. The $47 million project funded by 2016 Measure B was completed on November 2022.

Congratulations again to CTF Interchange Project of the Year award recipients: City of San Jose; Caltrans District 4; Santa Clara Valley Transportation Authority; HMH ENGINEERS; Biggs Cardosa and Associates; David J. Powers and Associates, DKS Associates; Parikh Consultants; Hill International; Mott MacDonald; O.C. Jones and Sons.

Project of the Year award

Subscribe to our Newsletter