VTA board members
VTA Board Turns Over With 8 New Members 
Stacey Hendler Ross

Sunnyvale Vice Mayor Glen Hendricks takes over as VTA Chair for 2021, taking the reigns from Santa Clara County Supervisor Cindy Chavez. San Jose City Councilmember Charles "Chappie" Jones was elected 2021 Vice Chair of the VTA Board. Hendricks and Jones could potentially serve two years in those roles if they choose to pursue an extension, after the 2020 VTA board approved an additional one-year option for board leadership positions. A majority of the board would have to approve the second year. 

During the January 7 meeting, Chair Hendricks laid out four topics he would like to lead the board in focusing on in 2021:
1.) Safe & Reliable Service; 2.) Funding Stability & Operational Sustainability; 3.) 2016 Measure B Spending Plan; and 4.) VTA Business Plan

In addition to the new Chair and Vice Chair, six new members took their seats on the board: Newly elected Santa Clara County Supervisor Otto Lee replaced outgoing Dave Cortese, who termed out of his Supervisor office and was elected to serve as District 15 State Senator; Cupertino City Councilmember Darcy Paul will represent West Valley Cities; Milpitas City Councilmember Carmen Montano will represent North East Santa Clara County Cities; Morgan Hill Mayor Rich Constantine will represent South County cities; Santa Clara Mayor Lisa Gillmor will serve as an Alternate Board Member for North East Cities; and Mountain View Mayor Margaret Abe-Koga will serve as an ex-Officio member and member of the Metropolitan Transportation Commission representing VTA. From the City of San Jose, Councilmember Sergio Jimenez will serve as a new member of the VTA Board, and Councilmember Magdalena Carrasco was reappointed for another term.

The City of Palo Alto has one position to fill to represent North County Cities. The Palo Alto City Council is expected to vote on that representative later this month. 

Subscribe to our Newsletter